The Village Organist Book 28


Edited by John Stainer & F Cunningham Woods

  1. Andante poco tranquillo in A (A Hollins)
  2. Allegro Moderato in G (O O Brooksbank)
  3. Procession to the Minster in E flat from Lohengrin (Wagner)
  4. Melody in C (H Blair)
  5. Berceuse in E flat (W Metcalfe)
  6. Fidelity in E flat (Schumann)
  7. Con moto in D (A W Tomlyn)
SKU: MUSNOV952328 Category:


There exists already and abundant supply of original compositions and arrangements suitable for performance on large and comprehensive organs, but many organists who have only a small instrument at their disposal in country churches often have some difficulty in finding short and easy voluntaries suitable for their own use and the instruction of their pupils. It is hoped that The Village Organist may supply this want, so much felt by that valuable and zealous class of church-workers to whom the work is inscribed. The editors have endeavoured to bring together a collection of pieces which they trust will prove to be at once simple, without being uninteresting, and effective where the instrumental resources are limited.

Additional information




Blair H., Brooksbank O.O., Hollins A., Metcalfe W., Schumann R., Tomlyn A.W., Wagner R.