Suite Francaise


By Naji Hakim

SKU: ED 21602 Category:


In this suite which contains 12 short movements and a concluding ‘Final en Rondeau’, the composer shows deference to France, the country which he has loved for its music and its culture since his childhood. The basic layout and the titles of the individual movements refer to the great tradition of the ‘grand siècle’ which inspired the composer to write a large number of small forms and dances. His themes have been taken from different sources: from the dance repertoire of the Renaissance and the early Baroque eras, from Gregorian chant and from folk music. A brilliant and entertaining concert piece!

Additional information


Hakim N.