Selected Organ Works. Vol.1: Sonatas 1-4 (Urtext).


By Alexandre Guilmant

SKU: 9790006506071 Category:


Guilmant Selected Organ Works I: Sonatas 1-4

Alexandre Guilmant (1837-1911) was organist at the Trinity Church in Paris and a professor at the Conservatoire.  His influence was widespread and an entire school was founded on his playing.

Guilmant’s eight organ sonatas are classics of the French Romantic organ tradition and belong to the core repertoire of organists everywhere.  His late organ sonatas in particular draw on the idiomatic styles of Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Schumann while paying homage to the Belle Époque.

– First scholarly-critical edition of Guilmant’s organ music

– Based on latest scholarly research. Includes previously unexplored sources

– Included in each volume is a detailed foreword (Fr/Eng/Ger), critical report (Ger) with an initial explanatory text (Fr/Ger/Eng), and catalogue of sources

Additional information


Guilmant F.A.