Selected Organ Works.


Composer: Schwarz-Schilling Reinhard

SKU: 9790006525140 Category:


Schwarz-Schilling Selected Organ Works

Reinhard Schwarz-Schilling (1904–1985) was a pupil of Heinrich Kaminski and a teacher of composition at the Berlin Musikhochschule.  He was also one of the leading figures in the revival of sacred organ music in the first half of the 20th century.  Throughout his career he maintained a firm belief in tonality, which he justified in ethical terms.  At the root of his highly contrapuntal music was a thorough commitment to the western musical tradition.

This edition bears witness to the outstanding organ music of this composer and organist and draws the reader’s attention to such works as the Prelude and Fugue and the Canonic Organ Prelude on “Da Jesus an dem Kreuze stand”.  But this selection does more than recall previously published music: three lesser pieces, the organ chorales on “O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden” (versions 1 and 2) and “Lobet den Herren alle, die ihn ehren”, appear here for the first time in print.

Additional information


Schwarz-Schilling R.