Organ Works, Vol.6 (complete) (Urtext). 42 Pieces pour Orgue sans Pedales ou Harmonium


By Theodore Dubois

SKU: 979 0006562633 Category:


Dubois Complete Organ Works Volume VI: Posthumous Works. 42 Pieces for Organ without pedal

Théodore Dubois (1837–1924) was a conductor, organist, teacher, and one of the leading Parisian composers of the 19th century.  His contemporaries frequently compared him to Delibes, Widor and Lalo.  Yet he rarely turned to the musical language of his age, writing instead in a vein that reveals influences from Mendelssohn, Weber, Gounod, and the dramatic style of Berlioz.  Our edition is the first to present his organ music in an Urtext performance edition.

Volume VI presents 42 easy to moderately difficult pieces without pedal for organ in every key, and brings the complete edition of Théodore Dubois’ organ works to a close.  With their contrasting length and character, the pieces offer a wide range of performance possibilities both inside and outside the liturgy.  Since Dubois was a master of melody, several of the pieces can also be rendered on the piano, further enhancing the collection’s practical value.

Besides a detailed critical commentary in German, English, and French, the volume also contains facsimiles, a catalogue of sources and a detailed foreword which contains a biography of the composer and sheds light on questions relating to the instrument and performance practice.

– First complete Urtext edition of Théodore Dubois’ organ works

– Based on the latest research findings

– Suitable for church worship and concert performance

– Detailed Foreword, Critical Commentary (Fr/Eng/Ger) and facsimile pages

Additional information


Dubois T.