Organ and Keyboard Works Complete, Vol.2/2


Composer: Sweelinck jan Pieterszoon

SKU: 9790006526697 Category:


Sweelinck Complete Organ and Keyboard Works II:2 (Polyphonic Works Part 2)
Fantasias, Echo Fantasias, Ricercari, Capriccio

The central significance of Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck (1562–1621) for the evolution of baroque “clavier music” can hardly be overestimated.  Yet all the currently available editions of his works stand in need of revision.  Our new scholarly-critical performance edition, prepared by the experienced editor Siegbert Rampe, closes this gap.  It is the first complete edition of Sweelinck’s keyboard works to distinguish between “works of secure authenticity”, “works of uncertain authenticity” and “works of questionable authenticity”.  It is also the first to present alternative readings in synoptic form and to separately reproduce variant versions.

The bilingual edition (German and English) is scheduled to appear in four volumes and incorporates the latest findings of musical scholarship.  Each volume contains a critical report, a catalogue of sources, and a detailed preface covering not only the volume’s scope, layout and editorial technique, but also performance practice, ornamentation and Sweelinck’s biography.

Volumes II.1 and 2 include all 22 fantasias and echo fantasias which have survived under Sweelinck’s name or are attributed to him, four ricercari and a capriccio.  The appendix contains four further fantasias.  In addition, several compositions are published for the first time in different, presumably original versions.

– Definitive complete Urtext edition

– Based on the latest findings of scholarship

– Detailed critical notes in German and English

Additional information


Sweelinck J.P.