Organ and Keyboard Works New Edition Vol 3


By Girolamo Frescobaldi

SKU: BA 8414 Category:


Frescobaldi Organ & Keyboard Works Volume III
Il Secondo Libro di Toccate, Canzone, Versi d’Hinni, Magnificat, Gagliarde, Correnti et altre Partite (Rom, Borboni, 1627, ²1637)

Girolamo Frescobaldi’s music strongly influenced composers such as Froberger, Buxtehude, J.S. Bach and Muffat.  Bärenreiter is now complementing the long-standing Pidoux edition with an Urtext edition in five volumes which sets a new standard.  It offers both professional musicians and enthusiasts an unrivalled musical text which will satisfy practical requirements whilst at the same time providing comprehensive information on all currently known sources and the history of the works. This Urtext edition of the organ and keyboard works has been edited by the renowned specialists Christopher Stembridge and Kenneth Gilbert.

Each volume in the New Frescobaldi Edition opens with an introduction to the genesis, sources, performance practice, and editorial methodology and ends with a critical report.

Volume III includes Frescobaldi’s foreword on the performance of his keyboard music (“avvertimenti”), eleven toccatas for organ, the “madrigale passagiatio” “Ancidetemi pur d’Archadelt” (in addition Arcadelt’s madrigal of the same name in the Appendix), six canzonas, strictly contrapuntal hymns and Magnificat settings primarily intended for organists, five galliards and six correntes, the “Aria detta La Frescobalda” and three partitas.

– Urtext edition setting new standards in five volumes

– Reflecting the latest state of research

– Detailed foreword (Eng/Ger), critical commentary (Eng/Ger), index of sources

Additional information


Frescobaldi G.