Organ and Keyboard Music at the Salzburg Court 1500-1800.


Various Composers

SKU: 9790006527472 Category:


Organ and Keyboard Music at the Salzburg Court 1500 – 1800

Until its dissolution in 1803, the Prince-Archbishopric of Salzburg had a rich musical tradition centered on composers of the stature of Paul Hofhaimer, Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber, Georg Muffat, Leopold Mozart, Michael Haydn, and of course Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

Our edition contains organ and clavier music by composers active at the Salzburg court from the early 16th century to the end of the archbishopric in 1803.  Siegbert Rampe has chosen valuable and technically not too demanding pieces, mostly from previously unpublished sources, that can be used in church services or concert performances.  The works are notated on two or three staves so that there is material galore for the harpsichord or positive organ.

– Easy to moderately difficult organ music for church or concert performance

– Valuable compositions from the heyday of the Salzburg court

– Mostly first publications, edited by Siegbert Rampe

– With an extensive preface and critical commentary (German/English)

Additional information