Legende for Organ and Brass Quartet, Op.55a (Urtext).


By G Bunk

SKU: 979 0006569717 Category:


Bunk Legende for Organ and Brass Quartet Op.55a (Score & 9 Parts)

As a 20th century composer, Gerard Bunk developed a distinctive musical style comparable perhaps to that of Max Reger or Sigfrid Karg-Elert.  In addition to Bunk’s large-scale organ work “Legende” Op.29 and its symphonic version Op.29II, there is a further well-known “Legende” Op.55b written for organ and string orchestra (or string quartet) which was composed in 1945.

This edition offers the earlier version of this work, dating from 1914, in its original instrumentation for organ and brass quartet.  In order to facilitate performance, the sketchily notated score is carefully supplemented by performance markings from the string version.

What Albert Schweitzer praised in the earlier “Legende”, “the calm and vivid layout of the complete work”, is also recognisable in Bunk’s later composition: the catchy, modestly beautiful theme alongside the clear musical form of this “Legende” for organ and brass quartet.

– Scored for 2 Flugelhorns, French horn, Trombone

– Attractive chamber music for brass with organ

– Edited by the composer’s grandson

– Also suitable for amateur ensembles

Score with 9 parts:

Additional information


Bunk G.