Guilmant Organ Sonatas 1 – 5


By Alexandre Guilmant

SKU: DOV406202 Category:


The eight sonatas of Guilmant may well lay claim to classical rank. Originally conceived for the French organs of Cavaille-Col, they are sufficiently broad in conception as to lose little, if anything, in theirinterpretation on English and American instruments. At the time of their composition (1874-1909) they brought to the Organ a new sense which had been too little cultivated by organists.

This volume is edited by A Eaglefield Hull and contains the First Sonata in D Minor Op.42, Second Sonata In D Major Op.50, Third Sonata In C Minor Op.56, Fourth Sonata In D Minor Op.61 and the Fifth Sonata In C Minor Op.80.

Additional information


Guilmant F.A.


Dover Publications