Sonata No 3 in C Minor: Op 56


By Alexandre Guilmant

SKU: ED 1863 Category:


Guilmant’s eight sonatas are based on the classical standard. Originally intended for the Cavaillé-Coll organ, they can be performed just as well on non-French organs. At the time of their creation they were a novelty for the organ and its literature, both of which had lost their importance in the 19th century. Guilmant’s compositions, rich in melody, harmony and perfect compositional technique, reflect the tonal possibilities and richness of color of the organs at his disposal. His ingenuity and fluid compositional technique influenced the development of the organ fugue in a similar way as Mendelssohn had influenced the piano fugue. During the quarter century in which Guilmant created his organ sonatas, significant changes took place in the field of instrumental playing technique. Greater demands were now placed on the player and instrument.

Additional information


Guilmant F.A.